Speech: Let’s end business subsidies

16 November 2015 · 6 comments   

Speech at Conservative Party of Quebec convention: Let’s end business subsidies

Maxime Bernier
Quebec City, November 14, 2015


Dear Quebec Conservative friends,

It gives me great pleasure to be with other Conservatives here in Quebec City, in the most Conservative region in all of Quebec!

As a Member of Parliament, I of course do not get involved in provincial politics. I also know that there are people who share our principles in other provincial parties.

But all those who want to get involved in a true Conservative party, a party that does not defend conservative principles only half of the time or a quarter of the time, but all of the time, are here today, with the Conservative Party of Quebec.

I know your leader very well. Adrien and I were both involved with the Montreal Economic Institute. Adrien is someone who truly understands conservative principles, someone who is not afraid to defend them openly.

After half a century during which the Quebec government experienced continual growth, half a century during which Quebec was the Canadian champion of economic intervention, the champion of debt accumulation, the champion of costly and overly bureaucratic programmes, the champion of high taxes, it is now more crucial than ever to have another voice. A consistent, confident, full-time conservative voice.


Speech: A Time for Choosing

6 April 2015 · 1 comment   

A Time for Choosing

Maxime Bernier, minister of State, Small Business and Tourism, Agriculture
Manning Networking Conference
March 7, 2015, Ottawa


Thank you Catherine for those kind words. And also a big thanks to the Manning Centre for inviting me.

This is such an amazing opportunity to meet like-minded friends from across the country and to recharge our batteries with lots of good ideas from the best minds in the conservative movement.

I hope you have been taking advantage of the conference, because this year is a crucial year for our country.

It will be a time for choosing: stability or uncertainty… a consolidation of the gains we have achieved over the past several years, which have made Canada one of the soundest economies in the world… or gambling with superficially appealing but reckless policies.

This is the choice that Canadians will have to make before the end of the year, and we have to make sure that it will be clear in everyone’s mind what kind of policies are best for Canadians.

But before we get into this debate, I want to rewind the tape a little bit. I want to talk about the “coolest” decade of the 20th Century: the 1970s!! You remember the 1970s?

I think I can spot some people in this room who are old enough like me to remember the 1970s: the decade of disco! With Donna Summer, the Bee Gees and Saturday Night Fever. The decade of men in jumpsuits with long hair! Can you imagine me like that?!!

On the economic front, it was not cool! It was the decade of stagflation: economic stagnation with inflation. The decade of big deficits and huge debt. The decade of the National Energy Program. The decade when the federal government was growing like wildfire. The decade when we had all these brilliant federal politicians and bureaucrats who were not busy enough running the federal government; they also wanted to run the provinces.

The decade of federal intervention in health care and education. The decade of centralisation and nationalisation. The decade when, partly in reaction to that federal activism, Separatism in Québec grew and grew, when the PQ became the official opposition in 1970, formed the government in 1976 and held its first referendum in 1980.

I can feel a wave of nostalgia in the room for that blessed period! Yes, the 1970s: the decade of Pierre Elliot Trudeau.


Press Review: How to reclaim our place within Canada

25 May 2014 · Comment   

My speech from last week on “How to reclaim our place in Canada” generated several reports, columns and editorials. Here are some of the main ones in both languages:

Regys Caron, “Ottawa wants Quebec to wean off equalization,” Sun News, May 20, 2014.

Melanie Marquis, “Trudeau would reignite Quebec’s sovereignty flames, Maxime Bernier says,” The Canadian Press, May 20, 2014.

Allan Woods, “Maxime Bernier urges Quebecers to embrace Canada,” Toronto Star, May 20, 2014.

Rhéal Séguin, “Oliver sees chance for economic reform in Quebec’s new government,” The Globe and Mail, May 20, 2014.

Andrew Coyne, “Maxime Bernier hammers home truths about Quebec,” National Post, May 21, 2014.

Barry Wilson, “Maxime Bernier’s common sense for Quebec,” CTV New Montreal, May 23, 2014.

Stéphane Dion, “Why Maxime Bernier is consistently wrong,” Huffington Post Canada, May 22, 2014.

Editorial, “Slurs taint Conservative plea to Quebecers to embrace federalism,” Toronto Star, May 22, 2014.

Joël-Denis Bellavance, « Le Québec doit cesser de ‘quêter’, dit Maxime Bernier », La Presse, 20 mai 2014.

Alain Laforest, « Propos de Maxime Bernier : Le Québec se défend de «quémander », TVA Nouvelles, 20 mai 2014.

Alain Laforest, « Ottawa demande au Québec de lui réclamer moins d’argent », TVA Nouvelles, 20 mai 2014.

Martin Croteau, « Levée de boucliers contre la sortie de Maxime Bernier », La Presse, 20 mai 2014.

Guillaume Bourgault-Côté, « L’anglais fait partie de l’identité québécoise, dit Maxime Bernier », Le Devoir, 20 mai 2014.

La Presse canadienne, « Québec doit cesser de « quémander » à Ottawa, selon Maxime Bernier », Radio-Canada, 20 mai 2014.

André Pratte, « M. Bernier a raison », La Presse, 21 mai 2014.

Stéphane Dion, « Un mauvais goût idéologique », La Presse, 22 mai 2014.

Pierre Jury, « Bernier et le Québec », Le Droit, 21 mai 2014.

Maxime Laporte, « On peut se passer aussi bien de sa démagogie que de ses Jos Louis », Le Soleil, 25 mai 2014.

Guillaume Bourgault-Côté, « Maxime Bernier, un penseur apprécié », Le Devoir, 24 mai 2014.

Johanne Marcotte, « À Maxime Bernier : Vous ne me choquez pas du tout! », Le blogue de Joanne Marcotte, 20 mai 2014.

How to reclaim our place within Canada

20 May 2014 · 1 comment   

This is the text of the speech I delivered this morning in Montreal before an audience of the Regroupement des jeunes chambres de commerce du Québec.

How to reclaim our place within Canada

Maxime Bernier, MP for Beauce

As was probably the case for many of you, when I reflected on the results of Quebec’s April 7 election, I got the sense that Quebec had reached a turning point in its history. Following a campaign haunted by the spectre of another referendum, the Parti québécois suffered its worst defeat since 1970 and the two federalist parties took home two thirds of the vote. Once again, Quebecers clearly rejected separation and embraced a stable future within the Canadian confederation.

Since the election, the media has devoted a lot of space to the uncertain future of the Parti québécois, and how it might bring young people back into the fold. But given the election results, there is a much more pressing and relevant matter to address, one that has received hardly any attention: How are we, as Quebecers, going to reclaim our place in Canada?

Obviously, this question matters deeply to me, as a federal politician from Quebec. But I am here today, not as a member of the Canadian government, but as a Quebecer wondering what we can do to move our society forward.

The sovereignty issue has monopolized political debate in Quebec for decades. It’s a legitimate debate, but it’s one that just keeps going around in circles.

In the meantime, Quebec must continue to develop. We have serious problems that need fixing. Our public finances are in a sorry state. Ours is one of the most heavily taxed regions in North America, and one of the least wealthy. We need to make massive investments in our crumbling infrastructure. And as our population is aging quickly, we have particular challenges to face when it comes to integrating immigrants and keeping our social programs solvent.

If we are to meet these challenges, we need governments, both in Quebec City and in Ottawa, that are focused on the real issues at hand, not on identity crises, referendum dilemmas and constitutional debates that create uncertainty. What we needs is stability, and not just for the next four years, but for the long term.

As I see it, that stability hinges on three major changes in attitude, all of which are related to Quebec reclaiming its place in Canada.


Justin Trudeau’s economic absurdities

13 April 2014 · Comment   

The Huffington Post Canada and the Huffington Post Québec ran the English and French versions of my article this week on Justin Trudeau’s absurd declarations about the economy these past several months. The English version is reproduced below.

Also, I was in Calgary this week and gave an interview to Licia Corbella, the Calgary Herald‘s editorial page editor. You can read her excellent article here.


If Trudeau Can’t Define the Middle Class, How Can He Work For Them?

Maxime Bernier, Minister of State for Small Business, Tourism and Agriculture

April 10, 2014

Should we trust a political leader who does not understand basic economic notions? This question is becoming more and more relevant as the leader of the Liberal Party of Canada, Justin Trudeau, keeps making absurd statements about the economy.


Justin Trudeau still doesn’t understand economics

25 February 2014 · 2 comments   

As I noted a year and a half ago already, Justin Trudeau doesn’t understand much about economics. And this is still the case today, as he tries to justify getting us back into deficits and piling up more debt.

The National Post and the Huffington Post Québec ran my article today on the economic proposals of the Liberals following their national convention in Montreal. Here is the English version.

More Liberal debt is not the road to growth

February 25, 2014

Maxime Bernier is the Minister of State for Small Business, Tourism and Agriculture

Now that its Montreal convention is over, we know a little bit more about the Liberal party’s economic platform. One of its central planks is that budget deficits are a good way to grow the economy, and that we should not be afraid to go further into debt.

In a recent video posted on the Internet, Liberal leader Justin Trudeau explains that Canadian households are heavily indebted, just like provincial governments, while the federal government has considerably lowered its debt level compared with other developed countries since the 1990s. His conclusion: Ottawa is the only entity with the ability to spend money and rack up more debt. It, therefore, has to “step up” and do the spending that others are not able to do.

At last weekend’s convention, Liberal delegates heard Larry Summers, an American economist, explain why we need “unconventional support policies” — economic jargon for “spending without restraint.” According to him, accumulating more debt is OK when it serves to stimulate the economy.

Are we in a recession? Does the current situation justify sending our public finances back into the red?


Athletic feat of the year in Beauce

9 February 2014 · Comment   

It is with great honor that I received the trophy for the athletic feat of the year 2013 at the Gala du Mérite Sportif in Beauce this past February 1. This prize was given in recognition of the 107-km supermarathon that I ran during the Great Crossing of the Beauce in September.

Press Review: The Senate

1 December 2013 · Comment   

Here are a couple of articles and an interview regarding my recent declaration on the Senate.

Conservatives float referendum on Senate abolition,Metro, November 2, 2013.

Chantal Hébert, “Harper misses boat on Senate plebiscite, Chronicle-Herald, November 5, 2013.

Bernier calls for national referendum on Senate abolition,” CTV News, November 7, 2013.

Vincent Marissal, « Un référendum sur l’abolition du Sénat? », La Presse, 2 novembre 2013.

Stéphanie Marin, « Le congrès conservateur se clôt sans pouvoir étouffer la crise du Sénat », La Presse, 2 novembre 2013.

Emmanuelle Latraverse, Les coulisses du pouvoir, Radio-Canada, Entrevue avec Maxime Bernier, 3 novembre 2013.

Spending freeze resolution approved by 75% of Conservative delegates

11 November 2013 · Comment   

The Conservative Party of Canada national convention was held last week in Calgary. A resolution presented by the Conservative association of my riding of Beauce, which proposed to freeze government spending from the moment when the budget is balanced in 2015-2016, was debated in one of the convention’s policy workshops. It was approved (in a vote by a show of hands) by 75% of the delegates present. Organizers also told me that this vote is the one that got the highest level of participation in that workshop during the whole day.

Unfortunately, the resolution was not brought before the plenary session because of the rules of procedure of the convention, which means it will not become part of the party program. Still, I am very happy with the result of this vote which shows strong support from Party members for the principle of small government, and I want to thank all those who supported it.

The Great Crossing of the Beauce: It’s done!

6 October 2013 · Comment   

I got to the finish line!

The Great Crossing of Beauce took place on Saturday September 28. After training for nine months, I managed to cross the 100 km (107 to be more precise) that separate the two ends of my riding, from south to north. It took 13 hours.

It was a magnificent day. Despite the physical difficulties, I overcame this challenge thanks to the extraordinary support of the people of Beauce who ran with me and saluted me all along the way.

The most important is that the goal of raising $50,000 for the Moisson Beauce food bank was largely exceeded: almost $160,000 was raised, thanks to the generosity of the sponsors and of the population. These funds will help the needy families of Beauce.

I want to sincerely thank all the volunteers who made this event a success, those who ran alongside me, the donors, and all those who encouraged me.

In the media:

Jake Edmiston, “From ‘Mad Max’ to The Running Man,” National Post, 30 September 2013.

Allan Woods, “Tory MP Maxime Bernier turns to ultramarathon as next challenge,” Toronto Star, 27 September 2013.

Report by Infoman on Radio-Canada television (starting at 1:11 min.).

Report on TVA Nouvelles.

Discours : Mettons fin aux subventions aux entreprises

16 novembre 2015 · 3 commentaires   

Discours au congrès du Parti conservateur du Québec : Mettons fin aux subventions aux entreprises

Maxime Bernier
Québec, 14 novembre 2015

 

Chers amis conservateurs du Québec,

C’est pour moi un grand plaisir de me retrouver avec d’autres conservateurs, ici à Québec, dans la région la plus conservatrice du Québec!

En tant que député fédéral, je ne me mêle évidemment pas de politique provinciale. Je sais aussi qu’il y a des gens qui partagent nos idées dans d’autres partis provinciaux.

Mais ceux qui veulent militer pour un véritable parti conservateur, pour un parti qui ne défend pas les principes conservateurs seulement la moitié du temps, ou le quart du temps, mais en tout temps, sont ici, dans le Parti conservateur du Québec.

Je connais très bien votre chef. Adrien et moi avons été tous les deux impliqués à l’Institut économique de Montréal. Adrien est quelqu’un qui comprend parfaitement les idées conservatrices, quelqu’un qui n’a pas froid aux yeux.

Après un demi-siècle pendant lequel l’État québécois n’a pas cessé de grossir, un demi-siècle pendant lequel le Québec a été le champion canadien de l’interventionnisme dans l’économie, le champion de l’endettement, le champion des programmes bureaucratiques et coûteux, le champion des taxes et impôts élevés, il est maintenant plus que jamais nécessaire d’avoir une autre voix. Une voix conservatrice cohérente et à temps plein, une voix qui s’assume.

(more…)

Discours : Le moment de faire un choix

6 avril 2015 · Commenter   

Le moment de faire un choix

Maxime Bernier, ministre d’État, Petite Entreprise, Tourisme et Agriculture
Manning Networking Conference
7 mars 2015, Ottawa

 

Merci Catherine pour cette aimable présentation. Et un gros merci également au Manning Centre pour m’avoir invité.

Cette conférence est une excellente opportunité pour rencontrer des amis de partout au pays qui partagent nos idées et pour recharger nos batteries avec plein de bonnes idées de la part des meilleurs cerveaux du mouvement conservateur.

J’espère que vous profiterez de la conférence, parce que l’année qui vient est une année cruciale pour notre pays.

Ce sera le temps de faire un choix : la stabilité ou l’incertitude… une consolidation des gains que nous avons réalisés ces dernières années, qui ont fait du Canada l’une des économies les plus solides dans le monde… ou bien un pari risqué avec des politiques superficiellement attrayantes mais irréfléchies.

Voilà le choix que les Canadiens devront faire d’ici la fin de l’année, et nous devons nous assurer qu’il sera évident pour tout le monde quelles politiques sont les meilleures pour eux.

Avant d’embarquer dans ce débat, j’aimerais revenir un peu en arrière. Je voudrais vous parler de la décennie la plus « cool » du 20e siècle : les années 1970! Vous vous souvenez des années 1970?

Je pense que j’aperçois quelques personnes dans cette salle qui sont suffisamment âgées pour s’en souvenir : la décennie du disco! Avec Donna Summer, les Bee Gees et Saturday Night Fever.

La décennie des hommes en jumpsuit avec des cheveux longs! Pouvez-vous m’imaginer comme ça?!!

Sur le front de l’économie, ce n’était pas cool du tout! C’était la décennie de la stagflation : une stagnation économique couplée avec de l’inflation. La décennie des gros déficits et d’une dette croissante. La décennie du Programme national de l’énergie. La décennie pendant laquelle le gouvernement fédéral s’étendait comme un feu de brousse. La décennie pendant laquelle nous avions ces brillants politiciens et bureaucrates fédéraux qui n’étaient pas assez occupés à gérer le gouvernement fédéral; ils voulaient aussi gérer les provinces. La décennie de l’interventionnisme fédéral dans l’éducation et la santé. La décennie de la centralisation et des nationalisations. La décennie pendant laquelle le séparatisme québécois n’a cessé de devenir plus influent, en partie en réaction envers cet activisme fédéral. La décennie qui a vu le PQ passer d’opposition officielle en 1970 à gouvernement en 1976, et la tenue d’un premier référendum en 1980.

Je crois sentir une vague de nostalgie dans la salle pour cette époque bénie! Oui, les années 1970 : la décennie de Pierre Elliot Trudeau.

(more…)

Revue de presse : Comment reprendre notre place au sein du Canada

25 mai 2014 · 3 commentaires   

Mon discours de la semaine dernière sur « Comment reprendre notre place au sein du Canada » a suscité plusieurs reportages, commentaires et éditoriaux. En voici une liste des principaux dans les deux langues :

Joël-Denis Bellavance, « Le Québec doit cesser de ‘quêter’, dit Maxime Bernier », La Presse, 20 mai 2014.

Alain Laforest, « Propos de Maxime Bernier : Le Québec se défend de «quémander », TVA Nouvelles, 20 mai 2014.

Alain Laforest, « Ottawa demande au Québec de lui réclamer moins d’argent », TVA Nouvelles, 20 mai 2014.

Martin Croteau, « Levée de boucliers contre la sortie de Maxime Bernier », La Presse, 20 mai 2014.

Guillaume Bourgault-Côté, « L’anglais fait partie de l’identité québécoise, dit Maxime Bernier », Le Devoir, 20 mai 2014.

La Presse canadienne, « Québec doit cesser de « quémander » à Ottawa, selon Maxime Bernier », Radio-Canada, 20 mai 2014.

André Pratte, « M. Bernier a raison », La Presse, 21 mai 2014.

Stéphane Dion, « Un mauvais goût idéologique », La Presse, 22 mai 2014.

Pierre Jury, « Bernier et le Québec », Le Droit, 21 mai 2014.

Maxime Laporte, « On peut se passer aussi bien de sa démagogie que de ses Jos Louis », Le Soleil, 25 mai 2014.

Guillaume Bourgault-Côté, « Maxime Bernier, un penseur apprécié », Le Devoir, 24 mai 2014.

Johanne Marcotte, « À Maxime Bernier : Vous ne me choquez pas du tout! », Le blogue de Joanne Marcotte, 20 mai 2014.

Regys Caron, “Ottawa wants Quebec to wean off equalization,” Sun News, May 20, 2014.

Melanie Marquis, “Trudeau would reignite Quebec’s sovereignty flames, Maxime Bernier says,” The Canadian Press, May 20, 2014.

Allan Woods, “Maxime Bernier urges Quebecers to embrace Canada,” Toronto Star, May 20, 2014.

Rhéal Séguin, “Oliver sees chance for economic reform in Quebec’s new government,” The Globe and Mail, May 20, 2014.

Andrew Coyne, “Maxime Bernier hammers home truths about Quebec,” National Post, May 21, 2014.

Barry Wilson, “Maxime Bernier’s common sense for Quebec,” CTV New Montreal, May 23, 2014.

Stéphane Dion, “Why Maxime Bernier is consistently wrong,” Huffington Post Canada, May 22, 2014.

Editorial, “Slurs taint Conservative plea to Quebecers to embrace federalism,” Toronto Star, May 22, 2014.

Comment reprendre notre place au sein du Canada

20 mai 2014 · 28 commentaires   

Voici le texte du discours que j’ai présenté ce matin à Montréal devant un auditoire du Regroupement des jeunes chambres de commerce du Québec.

Comment reprendre notre place au sein du Canada

Maxime Bernier, député de Beauce

Probablement comme la plupart d’entre vous, j’ai eu l’impression, en analysant les résultats de l’élection québécoise du 7 avril dernier, que le Québec vient d’atteindre un point tournant dans son histoire. Dans une campagne aux accents référendaires, le Parti québécois a subi sa pire défaite depuis 1970 et les deux partis fédéralistes ont obtenu les deux tiers des voix. Les Québécois ont clairement dit non, encore une fois, à la séparation du Québec et oui à la stabilité au sein du Canada.

Depuis l’élection, les médias ont consacré beaucoup d’espace à la question de savoir si le Parti québécois a un avenir et comment il pourra de nouveau convaincre les jeunes d’adhérer à son option. Compte tenu du résultat de l’élection, il y a une question bien plus pressante et pertinente à laquelle il faut répondre, et qui n’a pratiquement fait l’objet d’aucun débat : comment allons-nous, nous les Québécois, reprendre notre place au sein du Canada?

En tant que politicien québécois sur la scène fédérale, c’est un débat qui me concerne bien sûr directement. Mais je m’adresse à vous aujourd’hui non pas en tant que membre du gouvernement canadien, mais en tant que Québécois qui se pose des questions sur la façon de faire avancer notre société.

Ça fait plusieurs décennies que les débats politiques au Québec sont monopolisés par la question nationale. C’est un débat légitime. Mais un débat qui tourne en rond.

Pendant ce temps, le Québec doit continuer de se développer. Nous avons d’importants problèmes à régler. Nos finances publiques sont dans un état pitoyable. Nous sommes l’une des régions les plus taxées et les moins riches en Amérique du Nord. Nous devons massivement investir dans des infrastructures en décrépitude. Et en tant que société qui vieillit rapidement, nous avons aussi des défis particuliers à relever en ce qui a trait à l’intégration des immigrants et la solvabilité de nos programmes sociaux.

Si nous voulons réussir à relever ces défis, il nous faut des gouvernements, à Québec et à Ottawa, qui se concentrent sur les problèmes à régler au lieu de gérer des psychodrames identitaires et des crises référendaires ou constitutionnelles qui créent de l’incertitude. Il nous faut donc de la stabilité, et pas seulement pour les quatre prochaines années, mais à plus long terme.

Je vois trois grands changements d’attitude pour assurer cette stabilité, qui ont tous à voir avec le fait de reprendre notre place au sein du Canada.

(more…)

Les absurdités économiques de Justin Trudeau

13 avril 2014 · 3 commentaires   

Le Huffington Post Québec et le Huffington Post Canada ont publié cette semaine les versions française et anglaise de mon article sur les différentes déclarations absurdes de Justin Trudeau au sujet de l’économie au cours des derniers mois. La version française est reproduite ci-dessous.

J’ai également fait une visite à Calgary cette semaine et donné une entrevue à la responsable des pages éditoriales du Calgary Herald, Licia Corbella. On peut lire son excellent article ici.

MB

Les absurdités économiques de Justin Trudeau

Maxime Bernier, ministre d’État à la Petite Entreprise, au Tourisme et à l’agriculture
10 avril 2014

Devrait-on accorder notre confiance à un leader politique qui ne comprend pas les notions de base de l’économie? C’est la question qu’on peut se poser alors que le chef du Parti libéral du Canada, Justin Trudeau, multiplie les déclarations absurdes en ce qui a trait à l’économie.

(more…)

Justin Trudeau ne comprend toujours pas l’économie

25 février 2014 · 10 commentaires   

Comme je l’avais noté il y a déjà un an et demi, Justin Trudeau ne comprend pas grand-chose à l’économie. Et c’est encore le cas aujourd’hui, alors qu’il tente de justifier le retour aux déficits et à l’endettement.

Le Huffington Post Québec et le National Post ont publié aujourd’hui mon article commentant la politique économique des libéraux suite à leur congrès national à Montréal. En voici la version française.

Justin Trudeau veut nous endetter davantage

25 février 2014

Maxime Bernier, député de Beauce, ministre d’État à la Petite Entreprise, au Tourisme et à l’Agriculture

Le programme économique du Parti libéral du Canada s’est précisé à l’occasion du congrès du parti à Montréal. L’un de ses points centraux est celui-ci: les déficits budgétaires sont un bon moyen de faire croître l’économie et il ne faut pas craindre de s’endetter davantage.

Dans une vidéo lancée il y a quelques jours, Justin Trudeau explique que les ménages canadiens sont fortement endettés, que les provinces le sont également, alors que le gouvernement fédéral a, lui, fortement réduit son niveau d’endettement comparé aux autres pays développés depuis les années 1990. Sa conclusion? Ottawa est seul à avoir de l’espace pour dépenser et s’endetter. Ottawa doit donc prendre la relève et dépenser pour les autres.

Lors du congrès de Montréal, les délégués libéraux ont pu entendre Larry Summers, un économiste américain, expliquer qu’il faut des «politiques non conventionnelles d’appui à l’économie» du jargon d’économiste pour dire «dépenser sans compter». Selon lui, s’endetter davantage est une bonne chose si cela stimule l’économie.

Est-on en récession? La situation actuelle justifie-t-elle de replonger le gouvernement dans le rouge?

(more…)

Exploit sportif de l’année en Beauce

9 février 2014 · Commenter   

C’est avec un très grand honneur que j’ai reçu, lors du Gala du Mérite Sportif Beauceron le 1er février dernier, le trophée pour l’exploit sportif de l’année 2013. Ce prix vise à souligner le supermarathon de 107 km que j’ai couru lors de la Grande Traversée de la Beauce en septembre.

Revue de presse : le Sénat

1 décembre 2013 · 9 commentaires   

Voici quelques articles et une entrevue concernant ma prise de position récente sur le Sénat.

Vincent Marissal, « Un référendum sur l’abolition du Sénat? », La Presse, 2 novembre 2013.

Stéphanie Marin, « Le congrès conservateur se clôt sans pouvoir étouffer la crise du Sénat », La Presse, 2 novembre 2013.

Emmanuelle Latraverse, Les coulisses du pouvoir, Radio-Canada, Entrevue avec Maxime Bernier, 3 novembre 2013.

Conservatives float referendum on Senate abolition,Metro, November 2, 2013.

Chantal Hébert, “Harper misses boat on Senate plebiscite, Chronicle-Herald, November 5, 2013.

Bernier calls for national referendum on Senate abolition,” CTV News, November 7, 2013.

La résolution sur le gel des dépenses approuvée par 75% des délégués conservateurs

11 novembre 2013 · 5 commentaires   

La semaine dernière a eu lieu à Calgary le congrès national du Parti conservateur du Canada à Calgary. Une résolution de l’association conservatrice de mon comté de Beauce, qui proposait un gel des dépenses du gouvernement à partir du moment où l’équilibre budgétaire sera atteint en 2015-2016, a été débattue dans l’un des ateliers du congrès. Elle a été approuvée (lors d’un vote à main levée) par environ 75% des militants présents. Les organisateurs m’ont également confirmé que ce vote a obtenu le plus haut taux de participation de la journée dans cet atelier.

La résolution n’a malheureusement pas pu se rendre jusqu’à un vote en assemblée plénière à cause des règles procédurales du congrès. Elle ne sera donc pas incluse dans le programme du parti. Je suis tout de même très heureux de ce vote qui démontre un appui important des membres du parti pour le principe d’un gouvernement moins interventionniste, et je remercie tous ceux qui l’ont appuyée.

La Grande Traversée de la Beauce : c’est fait!

6 octobre 2013 · 3 commentaires   

Je me suis rendu jusqu’au bout!

Samedi le 28 septembre dernier avait lieu la Grande Traversée de la Beauce. Après neuf mois d’entraînement, j’ai réussi à relever le défi que je m’étais donné de traverser les 100 km (107 pour être plus précis) qui séparent les extrêmes sud et nord de la Beauce. J’ai couru pendant 13 heures.

Ce fut une magnifique journée. Malgré les difficultés physiques, j’ai pu surmonter cette épreuve grâce à l’extraordinaire appui des Beaucerons qui ont couru avec moi et m’ont salué tout au long du parcours.

Le plus important est que l’objectif d’amasser 50 000 $ pour la Fondation Moisson Beauce a été largement dépassé : c’est presque 160 000 $ qui ont été récoltés, grâce à la générosité des commanditaires et de la population. Ces fonds serviront à aider les familles beauceronnes dans le besoin.

Je tiens à remercier sincèrement les centaines de bénévoles qui ont assuré le succès de cet événement, les gens qui ont couru avec moi, les donateurs, et tous ceux qui m’ont encouragé.

Dans les médias :

Reportage d’Infoman à la tévision de Radio-Canada (à partir de 1:11 min.).

Reportage à TVA Nouvelles.

Jake Edmiston, « From ‘Mad Max’ to The Running Man », National Post, 30 septembre 2013.

Allan Woods, « Tory MP Maxime Bernier turns to ultramarathon as next challenge », Toronto Star, 27 septembre 2013.